About the PTLLS

Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (PTLLS) 
PTLLS is the acronym for the Award in Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector. It is a one unit award comprising of five sections. The award has a value of 12 credits on the Qualifications & Credit Framework (QCF) 

It is specifically aimed at learners who:

- would like or require an introduction to teaching in the lifelong learning sector or
- are seeking career progression within their area of work or
- will be/are seeking to progress towards ATLS/QTLS status and/or
- teach on a one-to-one and /or group basis
- teach non-publicly funded courses
- are trainers in industry

This qualification is suitable for those wishing to work as tutors/teachers/trainers in the lifelong learning sector, for example: further, adult and community education, work based learning and the voluntary sector, technicians and support staff in further and adult education.

If taken as a stand-alone qualification, this award can receive accreditation of prior learning (APL) within CTLLS, DTLLS and the level 5 subject specialist diplomas for literacy, ESOL and numeracy (120 credits). 
As it forms the first unit/module of the 120 credit teaching diploma qualifications and the 24 credit CTLLS programme; it can also be offered as an integrated unit/module or as a discrete award.

Teaching Practice and Observation

Learners will undertake 30 minutes of micro-teaching (delivery of a teaching session to peers in a learning setting) and will be observed by their tutor or an observer, who will provide feedback and complete an observation report. Feedback will also be given by learners' peers.

Teaching Practice Portfolio

Learners will be encouraged to compile a teaching practice portfolio during their programme of study. Portfolios should include a micro-teaching log or record of teaching practice undertaken plus evidence relating to peer evaluations, session planning, delivery and evaluation. The teaching practice portfolio is not a mandatory requirement of the PTLLS Award, but is deemed good practice.

Reflective Learning Journal

Learners will be encouraged to write a reflective learning journal from the commencement of the programme.

Level of Achievement

This award may be achieved at level 3 or level 4. This will be discussed with you following your initial assessment. Either level will allow progression to either the CTLLS or DTLLS qualifications.

Entry Requirements

There are no formal entry requirements for this qualification, but you need to consider a subject for delivery and be aiming to achieve (or have achieved) a qualification and experience for your subject/skill at the appropriate level.